Book Review – Golden Rainbow – Short Stories by Balaka Basu

click here This book review is part of the Blogchatter ebook carnival. I am reviewing my second book ‘Golden Rainbow – Short Stories by Balaka Basu’ You can check the first book review here

About the Author

buy metformin online overseas A full time mother and a part time blogger is how she defines herself. After doing her MA in journalism and M.Phil in women’s studies she joined the e-learning industry as an Instructional Designer. Being a traveloholic at heart she is the author of the blog Trina Looks Back

About the Book

sites pour rencontrer des femmes Golden Rainbow is a lovely bouquet of these neighborhood stories woven together and presented through the author’s eyes. Growing up in India in the 90’s having such memorable characters as neighbors, friends, relatives was common. Not just the people who lived around you but even the people who lived on the roads near you left a lasting impression on your mind and that is what Balaka’s book brings to fore.

click These stories aren’t grand and high on emotion and drama but are heart-tugging and will certainly make you nostalgic. These are slices of life that make you laugh, cry, wonder and even leave you speechless at times. It will take you down the memory lane and remind you of that funny neighbor or a silent guardian. The book is something that everyone from my generation would relate with.

A book review of The Golden Rainbow. It is a collection of short stories, mostly from the city of Kolkata.
The Golden Rainbow is a collection of short stories, mostly from the city of Kolkata.

go site Reading the collection of memories I realized what my children will probably never experience and how fortunate we were to enjoy the warmth, worry or even sarcasm from these extended relations that were not related by blood but by karma or experiences. Today with the prevalent flat culture and higher migrating population, we probably don’t make such lasting relations with anyone.

http://senslite.com.tw/?alergolog=opzioni-digitali-fare-soldi&ea0=e2 If you have loved serials like Wagale ki Duniya or you are familiar with Marathi literature and have loved Pu La Deshpande, you will enjoy reading these stories. They give you a glimpse of Kolkata, the neighborhood and the most important thing that emits from these stories are tales of humanities.

http://www.bgroads.com/?prosturadlo1=borsa-facile-opzioni-digitali&952=6d These stories will show the 50 shades of human emotions, but it will remind you with greater force that kindness and goodness in people is prevalent all we need to do is change our perspective.

enter site Definitely recommend this quick breeze read on a weekend.

le site de rencontre le plus populaire en algerie You can download the book for free from https://www.theblogchatter.com/download/golden-rainbow-short-stories-by-balaka-basu/

follow link  

Post Author: nehagpatwardhan

Neha Tambe is a freelance social media marketer, writer and influencer. Founder and Owner of nehatambe.com.

24 thoughts on “Book Review – Golden Rainbow – Short Stories by Balaka Basu

    U K

    (July 13, 2018 - 1:46 am)

    Since I have read a lot of PL Deshpande, I am sure now that I will like this one. Thanks for that honest review.
    Cheers!!

    UK
    U K recently posted…6 Best Cafes Coffee Lovers Should Visit When In MumbaiMy Profile

    Vasantha Vivek

    (July 13, 2018 - 2:05 pm)

    I like the posts of Balaka. And thanks much for this review. Will read it for sure.
    Vasantha Vivek recently posted…Most Loved Blogging Challenges: Blogchatter’s My Friend Alexa Campaign And A To Z Challenge- Day 6 Of #BarAThonMy Profile

    Ghazala Naseem

    (July 13, 2018 - 4:30 pm)

    I agree with you , our childhood was much different from now’s and our kids are not exposed to the warmth we have been to.
    The book seems interesting.

    Alpana Deo

    (July 13, 2018 - 9:14 pm)

    I would love to get a copy. You are right, those days were different and special. Unfortunately our kids dont get to experience such warmth and special moments.
    I have heard a few of Pu La Deshpande’s kathakathan and read few books as well.

    Akanksha

    (July 14, 2018 - 1:52 pm)

    This book looks like a variety of tales woven together to leave an impact on readers. I agree nuclear families and migration has changed so much that atleast our kids won’t face that sarcasm from extended relations. I lived in joint family for atleast a decade and still remember remarks or negative impact left on my childhood. Great read!

    Jhilmil Bhansali

    (July 14, 2018 - 3:18 pm)

    Liked this review, sounds a harsh truth that our kids won’t be able to experience that bonding with extended family or even neighbours.

    Roshan Radhakrishnan

    (July 14, 2018 - 4:42 pm)

    This sounds quite nice. Worth checking out.
    Roshan Radhakrishnan recently posted…Movies That Take Place Over 24 Hours #WriteBravelyMy Profile

    Shilpa Garg

    (July 14, 2018 - 5:37 pm)

    I loved reading Golden Rainbow by Balaka. All the stories give insight into human character and evoke strong emotions that keep the reader engrossed in the story. And that they have unexpected endings is another amazing thing about all thee stories!

    Princy Khurana

    (July 14, 2018 - 7:38 pm)

    I love to read books that are close to human relations. it is something that i feel is missing in our everyday lives and books help us dive back into them

    Shubhada Bhide

    (July 14, 2018 - 7:59 pm)

    Wow! This sounds like a great book to read. The review was so interesting and an eye-opener. I will absolutely check this out.

    Geethica Mehra

    (July 14, 2018 - 8:13 pm)

    Every decade has its own charm and 90’s was no different. I love to cherish that time. I would love to read this book and relate to my memories.

    Jhilmil D Saha

    (July 14, 2018 - 8:46 pm)

    This looks like a great book to grab for a weekend read like you said.
    Jhilmil D Saha recently posted…5 Surprising Facts About Vintage Wedding TraditionsMy Profile

    Misha Varun Jain

    (July 14, 2018 - 9:13 pm)

    A collection of short stories in ‘Golden Rainbow’ is a lovely compilation of neighborhood stories, woven together and presented by author Balka Basu in her own style.

    Amrita

    (July 14, 2018 - 9:14 pm)

    This Golden menories seem to be a must read.Loved the review .I nwed to download this one.
    Amrita recently posted…How to Create an Editorial Calendar for Your BlogMy Profile

    Papri Ganguly

    (July 15, 2018 - 12:45 am)

    This book is featuring Kolkata! Need to grab a copy

    Priyanka Patwari

    (July 15, 2018 - 12:48 am)

    I love to download and go through this E-book. I can’t wait to read it

    Siddhi Palande

    (July 15, 2018 - 1:48 am)

    The book seems interesting. I am quite keen on reading good short stories these days and while I have a few on my TBR, I can add this one to that.

    Rohini James

    (July 15, 2018 - 10:28 am)

    There’s no doubt that our kids are gonna miss out on some wonderful moments we shared with our neighbours. I loved the 90’s and this book is going to be make me nostalgic.

    Prisha Lalwani

    (July 15, 2018 - 1:24 pm)

    The title is oxymoronic but I love your honest review of the book.

    Pooja Kawatra

    (July 16, 2018 - 8:33 am)

    I feel things have changed a lot over the years and how free our childhood was as compared to kids of today. Seems like a beautiful read.

    Gunjan

    (July 16, 2018 - 11:58 am)

    Short stories are so me these days with an active toddler.. I havnt read any Marathi Literature. But would love to read this book. Thanks for recommending.

    Gurjeet Chhabra

    (July 16, 2018 - 4:46 pm)

    I love watching emotional relationship related serials and reading books which ar mainly on relationship. I am sure this book bind me for hours.gonna read it

    Rajlakshmi

    (July 16, 2018 - 7:42 pm)

    Balaka’s writing is beautiful… I can understand how emotional and relatable her stories can be, written with such finesse.
    Thanks for this wonderful review.

    pushpendra dwivedi

    (July 16, 2018 - 11:55 pm)

    interesting book review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.